Thomas Wolfe Memorial Literary Award

2019 Winner
George Ellison and Janet McCue
Back of Beyond: A Horace Kephart Biography

Originated by the Louis Lipinsky family and now also supported by Michael Sartisky, PhD, and the Thomas Wolfe Memorial Advisory Board, the TWML Award has been presented annually for printed works that focus special attention on Western North Carolina since 1955 when the WNC Historical Association and the Lipinsky family of Asheville presented the first Thomas Wolfe Memorial Literary Award to Wilma Dykeman for The French Broad.

TWMLA Winners

1955 Wilma Dykeman The French Broad
1956 Glenn Tucker Tecumseh: Vision of Glory
1957 Floyd C. Watkins Thomas Wolfe’s Characters
1958 John Parris My Mountains, My People
1959 Olive Tilford Dargan The Spotted Hawk
1960 Luther Robinson We Made Peace with Polio
1961 David English Camak Human Gold from Southern Hills
1962 Ina W. Van Noppen Stoneman’s Last Raid
1963 no award given
1964 Bruce R. McElderry, Jr. Thomas Wolfe
1965 no award given  
1966 Glenn Tucker Zeb Vance: Champion of  Personal  Freedom
1967 Michael Frome Strangers in High Places
1968 Neal Austin A Biography of Thomas Wolfe
1969 Harley E. Jolley The Blue Ridge Parkway
1970 Dell B. Wilson The Grandfather and the Globe
1971 Rodney Leftwich The Arts and Crafts of the Cherokee
1972 Moffitt Sinclair Henderson A Long, Long Day for November
1973 Ina and John Van Noppen Western North Carolina Since the Civil War
1974 Ruby J. Lanier Blanford Barnard Doughterty: Mountain Educator
1975 The Appalachian Consortium  
1976 Francis Hulme Mountain Measure: A Southern Appalachian Verse Notebook
1977 Frank L. FitzSimons  From the Banks of the Oklawaha Vol. I
1978 Charlotte Young Day of Miracles
1979 Theda Perdue Slavery and the Evolution of Cherokee Society, 1540-1866
1980 Jim Wayne Miller The Mountains Have Come Closer
1981 Douglas Swaim Cabins and Castles: The History & Architecture of Buncombe County, North Carolina
1982 Ronald D. Eller Miners, Millhands, and Mountaineers
1983 Lucy S. Herring Strangers No More
1984 John Ehle Last One Home: A Novel
1985 Loyal Jones Minstrel of the Appalachians: The Story of Bascom Lamar Lunsford
1986 Patricia Duane Beaver Rural Community in the Appalachian South
1987 Gail Godwin  A Southern Family
1988 Durwood Dunn  Cades Cove: The Life & Death of a Southern Appalachian Community, 1818-1937
1989 John C. Inscoe Mountain Masters: Slavery and the Sectional Crisis in Western North Carolina
1990 no award given  
1991 no award given  
1992 Kathryn Striping Byer Wildwood Flower: Poems
1993 Howard Dorgan The Airwaves of Zion: Radio and Religion in Appalachia
1994 Reuben A. Holden and Mark T. Banker Warren Wilson College: A Centennial History
1995 Jerry W. Williamson Hillbillyland: What the Movies Did to the Mountains & What the Mountains Did to the Movies
1996 Robert Isbell The Last Chivaree: The Hicks Family of Beech Mountain
1997 Charles Frazier Cold Mountain
1998 Barbara S. Duncan Living Stories of the Cherokee
1999 Tommy Hays In the Family Way: A Novel
2000 Judy Jordan Carolina Ghost Woods: Poems
2001 Robert Brunk May We All Remember Well, Volume II
2002 Rob Amberg Sodom Laurel Album
2003 Leon Fink The Maya of Morganton
2004 no award given  
2005 Richard A. Straw & H. Tyler Blethen, editors High Mountains Rising: Appalachia In Time And Place
2006 Michael McFee Shinemaster: Poems
2007 Lee Smith On Agate Hill
2008 Ron Rash Chemistry and Other Stories
2009 Bruce E. Johnson Grove Park Inn: Arts & Crafts Furniture; Drawings by Kevin Pierce
2010 Wayne T. Caldwell Requiem by Fire
2011 Heather Newton Under the Mercy Trees
2012 Kathryn Newfont Blue Ridge Commons:  Environmental Activism and Forest History in Western North Carolina
2013 Wiley Cash A Land More Kind Than Home
2014 Robert Morgan The Road from Gap Creek
2015 Fiona Ritchie and Doug Orr Wayfaring Strangers: The Musical Voyage from Scotland and Ulster to Appalachia
2016 Terry Roberts That Bright Land
2017 Julia Franks Over The Plain Houses
2018 Charles Frazier Varina
2019 George Ellison and Janet McCue

Back of Beyond: A Horace Kephart Biography

Nominations for the 2020 Award will open on this webpage later this year.